Author Topic: Using IO modules with programmable displays.  (Read 5059 times)

ET

  • Guest
Using IO modules with programmable displays.
« on: March 08, 2012, 05:54:19 PM »
Is it possible to have IO modules communicate/work with SDF's programmable displays?
In their literature and website, it looks like they are only meant to hook up to the microcontrollers.
However, since:
- microcontrollers are programmable, and communicate on the CAN bus
- displays are programmable, and communicate on the CAN bus
- IO modules relay their pins via the CAN bus
So, it seems logical that the IO modules should be able to work with the displays directly, without needing a microcontroller also.

Is this possible?

Offline Jakob

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Using IO modules with programmable displays.
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 08:26:42 PM »
I would say yes, it is possible.
But I have not tried it yet, it would be easy to try.
Im gonna make a quick try tomorrow, if nobody has knows for sure.

Offline Jakob

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Using IO modules with programmable displays.
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2012, 09:48:59 AM »
As we assumed, this was not a problem.
I just did a small setup with a DP250 and an IX024.

Offline Thomas

  • Administrator
  • PLUS+1 Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • PLUS+1 support pages
Re: Using IO modules with programmable displays.
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2012, 03:16:24 PM »
Hi!

Be a little bit careful what you run of the I/O module, the loop time of a display is higher and therefore the reaction will not be as fast as from a MC controller. The display is working with graphics and that takes more time to process.

//Thomas

Offline Jakob

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Using IO modules with programmable displays.
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2012, 05:19:56 PM »
Thanks Thomas.
Good point.