Author Topic: Diesel engine service  (Read 7978 times)

Offline FStelzer

• PLUS+1 Expert
Diesel engine service
« on: July 28, 2016, 10:32:06 AM »
Hello guys,

do you know if there is a J1939 message from a diesel engine where I can see the service status of the engine ? Or better said some kind of a service indication lamp?

And is it also possible to reset the service via CAN ?

Thanks in advance !

Regards,
FStelzer

Offline miltonbjm

• PLUS+1 Novice
  • PLUS+1PROGRAMER
Re: Diesel engine service
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2016, 01:53:31 PM »

Offline FluidPowerTom

• PLUS+1 Guru
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2016, 07:04:22 PM »
I haven't worked with an engine with a 'Service' lamp per se but with a 'Maintenance Due' lamp, but that's with a CAT engine.  The following is what I've seen regarding the CAT engines I've worked with, but not being a CAT technician I don't know many specifics.  The warning indicator, protect indicator...etc. are on J1939, but the maintenance status is not.  The maintenance status mode is set using the CAT ET (technician) program wherein they can turn it off entirely (I think) or set it for various reporting options.  There is a maintenance lamp clear switch, but depending on the maintenance status mode it may only clear it temporarily or not at all if you haven't fixed the issue.  The maintenance lamp clear switch for CAT engines hard wires directly to the engine ECU customer interface connector, and I haven't seen anything in the manual about them allowing it to be done over J1939.

The warning lamp, protect lamp, and other lamps on the J1939 DM1 message are tied to engine trouble codes, and even if you can code in a message to clear those I'm not sure it's wise.  Those codes are all meant to clear on their own when the issue goes away.
Controls Engineer
Hydra-Power Systems

Offline FStelzer

• PLUS+1 Expert
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2016, 08:01:25 AM »
Hello,

thanks for your answers.