Author Topic: PWM output, proportional Valve  (Read 201 times)

Offline AP

• PLUS+1 Novice
PWM output, proportional Valve
« on: April 17, 2024, 10:40:56 PM »
Hello I am new to Danfoss! THANK YOU FOR ANY HELP!!

I am trying to control a proportional valve with a PWM signal, the valve requires a 0 to 600mA.

What are the steps involve in this. as simple as possible?

1. Scaling. the valve is inversely proportional so 0mA= 3000PSI and 600mA=0PSI, I can use y=mx+b or scale function from library.
2. is there a function block needed to output a PWM? or can I send the scaled value to the Multifunctional Output?
3. how is the ping configuration done? Output mode option 3,4 or 5?

Thank you again !!

Offline Lukey

• PLUS+1 Developer
Re: PWM output, proportional Valve
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2024, 02:50:18 AM »
1. As a beginner yes I would use the scale Fb this is
2. Yes there is a PWM_Driver function block found in the outputs library, see attached
3. Ping config 3 is a good starting point, see attached

Offline samuelhj

• PLUS+1 User
Re: PWM output, proportional Valve
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2024, 12:25:10 AM »
Hello I am new to Danfoss! THANK YOU FOR ANY HELP!!

I am trying to control a proportional valve with a PWM signal, the valve requires a 0 to 600mA.

What are the steps involve in this. as simple as possible?

1. Scaling. the valve is inversely proportional so 0mA= 3000PSI and 600mA=0PSI, I can use y=mx+b or scale function from library.
2. is there a function block needed to output a PWM? or can I send the scaled value to the Multifunctional Output?
3. how is the ping configuration done? Output mode option 3,4 or 5?

Thank you again !!

Since I recently had to deal with Bosch-Rexroth valves that wanted PWM signal, I'll share my insight on this, be aware I don't know your specific valve type so milage may vary.
The datasheet for the valve should at least have some guidelines on how to drive the valve via PWM.