Author Topic: Dp200 connecting to printer  (Read 1938 times)

Offline RevampJames

  • PLUS+1 Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Dp200 connecting to printer
« on: April 29, 2019, 06:01:15 PM »
Hi, I have a dp200 that I want to be able to print values from. I see some people have used an Epson printer, I’m guessing either USB or serial. Are are guys doing it with the dp200, getting a CAN converter?

Offline acmall

  • PLUS+1 Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 115
  • Karma: +22/-1
Re: Dp200 connecting to printer
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2019, 09:05:04 AM »
What type of printer do you need?

We use a thermal receipt type printer connected to a DP720 display via the RS232 interface but, I am not sure if the DP200 has hardware support for RS232.
If this is what you are after there are a few available with CAN. Try a search for taxi or bus receipt printer.


Offline Ryan@Bearcat

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Dp200 connecting to printer
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2021, 03:32:29 PM »
acmall, I am currently trying to figure out how to connect a Mylox printer to a DP600 via RS232 and I am not sure where to start. How do you send data? I will apologize in advance as I am a completely newbie to RS232.

Offline acmall

  • PLUS+1 Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 115
  • Karma: +22/-1
Re: Dp200 connecting to printer
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2021, 09:04:38 AM »
Is your screen the older DP600 or the newer DP600TM. I think this might make a difference, I only have the TM version which shares the output pins between USB and RS232 and needs to be configured for which one is being used. I am not sure if the DP600 is the same.

To further complicate this some versions of the templates do not include predefined pages for RS232. Check in your Outputs page,  do you have any RS232 pages?


Offline Ryan@Bearcat

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Dp200 connecting to printer
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2021, 02:16:57 PM »
It is a DP610TM. I do have a "RS232_USB page in the outputs of the template.

Offline acmall

  • PLUS+1 Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 115
  • Karma: +22/-1
Re: Dp200 connecting to printer
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2021, 06:50:40 PM »
As you probably realised RS232_USB is where you need to set the mode of the output pins for RS232. Mode should be 1.

See the attached file. This is the other RS232 page were you do the configuration of the message and send the data. You should be able to ad this in and connect it to the outputs bus. Note this is from a DP720 so I cannot guarantee that it will work with the DP610TM.

Basically steps are: -
  • Set the options for Baudrate, Stop Bits, etc.
  • Create an array that holds the data you want to transmit and connect it to TxMsg_Data
  • Set TxMsg_Len to the length of your array
  • Set TxMsg_Tx to true to send the data

Sorry I don't have an example I can share, I am currently working to a tight deadline on a project.

Offline Ryan@Bearcat

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Dp200 connecting to printer
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2021, 08:06:47 PM »
I really appreciate the feedback and the example!

I will apologize in advance in case I start asking questions that seem to have obvious answers. With that being said... in the RS232 page you attached, did you create that page and the signals (Baudrate, Stop Bits, TxMsg_Data, etc) or is that info that is already on the RS232 bus? I opened a DP610TM application as well a DP700 application that both have RS232 functions and the RS232 pages in both look identical but I do not see any of those signals on the bus.




Offline Ryan@Bearcat

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Dp200 connecting to printer
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2021, 10:07:37 PM »
So, both templates used in the applications I am looking at are older ones that do not have the secondary "RS232" page below the RS232_USB" page which where my confusion was coming from. Makes a lot more sense now that I see the second RS232 page.