Author Topic: Internal Coils  (Read 20617 times)

Mike Stiffler

Internal Coils
« on: January 18, 2011, 11:35:20 PM »
Hello:

I'm new to Plus+1 and I come from a PLC background.  I was using the Boolean logic for converting some ladder logic, but I'm stuck with how to turn on an internal coil versus a real world output coil.

I would use the internal coil to latch the Boolean circuit and elsewhere in the logic to make other decisions.  Do I have to write to a bit in a word to represent an internal coil?

Thank you,

Mike Stiffler

Offline Stefan

• Administrator
  • PLUS+1 Expert
Re: Internal Coils
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 08:15:19 AM »
Hello Mike,

PLUS+1 hasn't any "coils" like PLC. In PLC you give these "coils" a name like M1.0. In PLUS+1 you have to connect a green wire to the output of e.g. a SR-latch and pull that wire through you program where you want to read it.

I hope this will help you.

Best regards
Stefan

Mike Stiffler

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 03:00:44 PM »
Stephen:

OK, I'll give the set/reset latch a try.

Thank you,

Mike

paterianus

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 04:32:24 PM »
I came from the PLC world as well so I can sympathise with you.  As Stephan said you have to "name" your internal outputs and connect them to the AUTO bus in order to use them elsewhere in your program.

Mike Stiffler

« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2011, 08:20:02 PM »
Hello:

Would it be possible to explain your concept a little bit more?  When I did a search for AUTO bus in the help guide nothing came up.

Thank you,

Mike

paterianus

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2011, 11:22:01 PM »
It's called a bus port (the yellow oval with a line above and below) and you could name one "internals" to emulate internal coils.

Mike Stiffler

« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2011, 06:26:12 PM »
Hello:

OK, I'll give that a try.

Thank you,

Mike

bgtwuk

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2011, 05:13:40 AM »
Hey Mike

Have you got your internal bits working?

Bgtwuk

Mike Stiffler