Author Topic: CanOpen (REAL64) GNSS messages with C Code POU  (Read 1836 times)

Offline mfaber

• PLUS+1 Novice
CanOpen (REAL64) GNSS messages with C Code POU
« on: March 31, 2023, 12:13:07 AM »
Hi, all. I am trying to integrate a GNSS receiver with CanOpen interface to Plus1. The Latitude, Longitude and heading values are received with CanOpen as a 8 byte hex array. This hex array needs to be converted to a Real64 floating number using IEEE754 system in order to make sense of it. (in radians). Then it can be converted to degrees and then to a S32 integer in order to be useful in guide. I am using C Code POU's to do this. However, I am not very experienced with POU's in Guide so I am having a bit of trouble. I have written an algorithm in C that converts a hex array to a Real64 floating point number. I know this code works because I have tested it independent of Guide. When I test it in Guide however, I am consistently getting 0 on the output from the POU.

During this initial testing the output is a Real64 number which I know Guide cannot work with, but I have made sure that the hex array will correspond to a floating point number larger than 0 so at least the numbers before the decimal point can be displayed. Once this is working then I can refine the code (or add another POU) to do the next steps such as convert to integer accurately.

Can anybody with some experience using C code in POU's have a look over how I have set up the POU and let me know what I have done wrong or missed out? Or anything else you can see that is not correct? Attached is the P1P file.

Cheers,

Offline Matt_Eng

• PLUS+1 Developer
Re: CanOpen (REAL64) GNSS messages with C Code POU
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2023, 05:03:48 PM »
Hi,

There are a few setup issues in the POU.
The first is that the POU inputs and outputs weren't actually being used, so they have to be connected up.