Author Topic: hour meter for engine  (Read 3263 times)

Offline clindhorst2

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
hour meter for engine
« on: March 13, 2016, 04:32:21 AM »
I am lost on getting a transition from the clock pulses every time a second passes. I have a DP720 display screen, which comes with a realtimeclock. I assume this is a very easy fix but I can't figure it out. I have loop counters like they show in the user manual, daisy chained together. I am wondering if they have created a function block for this that I haven't found or if I have to go through all this. This would be an extremely useful function block.

Thanks.

Lindhorst
« Last Edit: March 14, 2016, 10:24:55 PM by clindhorst2 »

Offline ssutherington

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: hour meter for engine
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2016, 07:59:26 AM »
Use a hardware read, CK1S for 1 a second pulse or CK60S for 60s pulse. See the API for details
Make sure the real time clock is running.

Offline oiltronic

  • PLUS+1 Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: +14/-0
Re: hour meter for engine
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2016, 12:14:58 AM »
No internal hour meter in the engine ECU that you can access by J1939?  Even the smaller CATs we use have one.

Offline jashom1

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: hour meter for engine
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2016, 12:53:42 AM »
If you download and install the Inverter Function Block library, there is an hour counter block in there which I have used a few times and works quite well.  It takes the head scratching out of it  :)

Cheers,

John.