Author Topic: Input signal -10V / +10V  (Read 2716 times)

cthomas@hds-france.com

  • Guest
Input signal -10V / +10V
« on: March 03, 2015, 11:10:29 AM »
Hi,
 
I have several requests for pilot one pump with one signal coming from an automate.
In these cases the signal is often  -10V / +10V
 
Do you have a solution to be able to read -10V / 10V with one controller +1 ?
 
Thanks

Offline Jakob

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Input signal -10V / +10V
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2015, 01:03:39 PM »
If the controller supply ground is -10V compared to your pump unit, then it should be no problem to read the signal.
Otherwise I suspect you have to add an extra interface to adjust your input signal.

It all depends on how your system is set up supply wise, whats the common ground?
And more important what happens if wires are short circuited in various ways.

Offline oiltronic

  • PLUS+1 Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: +14/-0
Re: Input signal -10V / +10V
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2015, 01:52:08 AM »
Plus+1 can't measure below it's own ground reference so either shift the reference, which is actually a bit tricky and can create other problems, or just get a signal conditioner, which are cheap and everywhere.  Just search for a "bipolar voltage input signal conditioner", and get one with +/-10V input and 0-10V output.

Offline Jakob

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Input signal -10V / +10V
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2015, 08:38:42 AM »
Yep I agree with oiltronic, a "bipolar voltage input signal conditioner" is the best way to go on this one.
You just avoid most possible problems this way.

Offline hgb1992

  • PLUS+1 Developer
  • ***
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Input signal -10V / +10V
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2015, 12:06:01 PM »
We had a similar Problem in past.
We forced the customer to provide two 0-10VDC signals instead of +/-10VDC Signal (but I know, not always possible).

KR, Benedikt