Author Topic: John Deere J1939  (Read 17052 times)

Jelmer

  • Guest
John Deere J1939
« on: November 25, 2010, 08:56:42 AM »
Dear All,

I'm trying to set up communication between a MC50-10 and a John Deere 6068HF485 Diesel engine. At this moment I can read the bus (RPM oil press etc.) but I can't control the speed of the engine. I'm using the TSC1 block to do so...but the engine doesn't respond to what ever I'm sending.

I'm sending on the right bus, because I can see the data send by the enigne. I also tried to alter the destination adress which I'm sending to (from 0-255  :D), also no effect.

Any one who had the same problem or has good ideas....

Thanks Jelmer

Volker

  • Guest
Re: John Deere J1939
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2010, 11:27:33 AM »
We had the same problem with a Deutz Motor. Finally the program of the Motor Controller was wrong.  ;D


Offline slewis

  • PLUS+1 Developer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: John Deere J1939
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2010, 04:29:57 PM »
Usually there's a parameter in the engine ECM that needs to be set in order to allow the engine to receive commands from the J1939.  The ECM will transmit to the J1939, but won't accept incoming messages until this parameter is set.  Just something you might look at.

Offline Neil

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: John Deere J1939
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2010, 09:44:10 PM »
You may also want to try and set the MC50 id too 3

Jelmer

  • Guest
Update John Deere J1939
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2010, 09:10:14 AM »
Dear All.

Thanks for thinking with me. Things I tried:

-setting my adres to 3 as well....no result.
-According to JD the engine is set correctly
-Swapping some bits by messing arround with an old function block...still no result.

Also sent a screen shot of CanKing to JD, but thay can't tell me if I'm sending the right message >:(

I will keep you posted.


Offline turboshad

  • PLUS+1 Developer
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Update John Deere J1939
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2010, 06:24:53 PM »


Also sent a screen shot of CanKing to JD, but thay can't tell me if I'm sending the right message >:(



If they can't tell you if your message is correct I would be hesitant to except their prognosis that the engine is set properly. I've found that sometimes the guys programming the engines have never done something like this and it takes just as much learning on their part. Hopefully you have a JD tech that is willing to work at it with you.

Offline hproffitt

  • PLUS+1 Developer
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: John Deere J1939
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2010, 10:35:44 PM »
EDIT:  Glad you got it going.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2010, 03:07:34 PM by hproffitt »

Jelmer

  • Guest
Re: John Deere J1939
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2010, 01:45:26 PM »
Dear All,

Problem wass solved last friday 5 minutes before killing someone :-). Also this time the engine manufacturer is to blaim. The adres off the engine was not 3 but 0. Also all bits are set to zero except for the engine controle mode. This must be set to 1. So the first byte of the message is 01.

Thanks for thinking with me!!

Also compliments to the plusone helpdesk for all support.


Offline Richard

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • PMC Harvesters
Re: John Deere J1939/Deutz
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2011, 12:40:52 PM »
I am struggling to recieve messages DM1 and DM2 from a Deutz engine (EMR3).

I can recieve engine data such as speeds, pressures, temps OK and it accepts my request for engine hours and I get them too but no DM1 and DM2.

I've used the same logic on a JD and the messages are recieved and understood perfectly using the Plus+1 J1939 templates so I figure that atleast is OK.

The help from Deutz is kind of limited to saying they use J1939!

Can anyone help?

Thanks
Richard

Offline Stefan

  • Administrator
  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: John Deere J1939
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2011, 03:04:37 PM »
Hello,

Have you tried to set Use Source on the block to False?

Perhaps Deutz uses a different Source then John Deere.

Best regards
Stefan

duncanford

  • Guest
Re: John Deere J1939
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2011, 04:57:10 PM »
Does anyone have any experience connecting to a John Deer Farm Tractor with a sprayer? Do they make available the amount sprayed?