Author Topic: Slow screen switching  (Read 12658 times)

Offline Jerry B

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Slow screen switching
« on: October 23, 2018, 11:10:13 PM »
I'm using a DP200. It is taking around 10 seconds to switch between areas except for the back button which resets the latches.

Each of the Areas has a screen being brought up that has between 10 - 30 references to signals feeding data read from CAN messages. One of the pages has a page within a page. There is some number crunching and formatting going on for the data.

Is the Area switching waiting for all the data to be ready for the screens before switching, or is the logic for the Area control getting hung up somewhere to take that long?

Soft buttons 2-4 all bring you to a new page. Button 4 is used as a back button for each of the pages. SW_BATTSET is the trigger for the page within a page linked to soft button1. Any help with logic to have this run faster would be appreciated. The areas linked to Latch 2-4 are enabled on a true signal.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2018, 11:26:13 PM by Jerry B »

Offline FluidPowerTom

  • PLUS+1 Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 268
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: Slow screen switching
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2018, 07:47:48 PM »
Do you have any high quality images on the pages?  It could be taking a while to render those, so if that's the case then they could be reduced in pixel size.
Mechanical Engineer
Hydra-Power Systems - Distributor - Pacific Northwest

Offline Jerry B

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Slow screen switching
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2018, 11:24:06 PM »
No. The areas are white backgrounds, and the screens are just text, lines, and a bunch of CAN data that has been received and possibly modified.
The "back" button, soft button 4 (that resets all the latches), works within a couple seconds to get back to the main page.

Offline Neil

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Slow screen switching
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2018, 01:10:59 AM »
Are you using an enabled signaled on the images found in the in the inspector tab in the screen page?
These call the image on screen selected.
Suggest also using check points and measure the delay within the P1P.

Offline niteRider

  • PLUS+1 Developer
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Slow screen switching
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2018, 08:05:47 PM »
What's your loop time?

Offline BRIan

  • PLUS+1 Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Slow screen switching
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2018, 06:56:51 AM »
I have come across this before. Make sure you have the latest hwd file and set the OS.ExecTimeOut to 40ms (Ack to the HelpDesk on this one)

Offline Jerry B

  • PLUS+1 User
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Slow screen switching
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2018, 07:00:16 PM »
@BRIan, THANKS! I had the latest hwd file, but changing the OS.ExecTimeOut from 10 to 40ms did it. Really appreciate the help.