PLUS+1 User Forum

PLUS+1™ Software => Displays => Topic started by: DENIS on January 17, 2011, 01:27:16 PM

Title: measure the weight load on cranes
Post by: DENIS on January 17, 2011, 01:27:16 PM
Good morning ladies,
need to make the measurement of weight of the load hoisted from a crane, using a pressure transmitter installed on the lifting cylinder of the boom, according to the radius of action varies with the pressure transmitter, anyone have a clue how to do this logic?
Title: Re: measure the weight load on cranes
Post by: bgtwuk on January 18, 2011, 04:19:56 AM
How will you monitor the radii?

Bgtwuk
Title: Re: measure the weight load on cranes
Post by: Neil on January 18, 2011, 08:41:13 PM
Hi there.

I'm currently looking at a similar application. You may wish to review the mechanical principles of a” third order lever" typically which most crane applications fall under. I have a draw wire displacement sensor to monitor the boom extension and retraction. This will be useful in adjusted the load position as the boom extends or retracts (load positioning)
F= cylinder force
a= boom extension

Force on the cylinder is f= pressure x area.




(http://i437.photobucket.com/albums/qq98/CANbus_bucket/3lever.jpg)
Title: Re: measure the weight load on cranes
Post by: Jelmer on January 31, 2011, 09:32:00 PM
In theory this is correct, however in real-word you also need to calculate in the angle in which the force is applied. (the force in relation to the beam and the force of the cilinder in relation to the beam). Futhermore this angle changes during operation.

To make things more dificult....you also have to calculate the slip-stick of the cilinder. Normaly the load is messured by using a loadcel underneath the upper pully of the beam.

All depands on how accurate your system has to be.

Good luck
Title: Re: measure the weight load on cranes
Post by: Marbek_Elektronik on January 04, 2016, 11:13:55 AM
It's very late.
But perhaps this helps:
http://www.intermercato.com/
They can measure the load by moving the crane.
Title: Re: measure the weight load on cranes
Post by: Kava_Man on March 11, 2019, 11:15:36 AM
It's very late.
But perhaps this helps:
Performance Lab SPORT Fat Burner (https://www.live-magazine.co.uk/fat-burners/performance-lab-sport-fat-burner-review/)
They can measure the load by moving the crane.

It is late but it's always worth posting if you're linking to a reliable source. People might not be talking about a topic anymore but there are people like me who visit these forums to look through old answers before bothering to post the same question again. Thanks for linking this anyway man, very helpful!